STL President Convenes Trial Chamber in the Connected case STL-18-10

The President of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL), Judge Ivana Hrdlickova, issued an order today convening the Trial Chamber in the Connected case STL-18-10 case (Trial Chamber II). This case relates to the attacks against Mr Marwan Hamade, Mr Georges Hawi and Mr Elias El-Murr on 1 October 2004, 21 June 2005 and 12 July 2005, respectively.

The judges of the Trial Chamber II are: Judge Walid Akoum of Lebanon; Judge Nicola Lettieri of Italy; and Judge Anna Bednarek of Poland.

Judge Anna Bednarek was appointed by the United Nations Secretary-General as new international judge. Judge Walid Akoum and Judge Nicola Lettieri currently also serve as alternate judges in the Trial Chamber of the Ayyash et al. case, which relates to the 14 February 2005 attack. According to the STL’s founding documents, Trial Chamber II consists of one Lebanese judge and two international judges.

I congratulate the Judges on their appointments to Trial Chamber II, and welcome Judge Anna Bednarek as new STL Judge. I wish them all the best in their judicial duties. said STL President Ivana Hrdlickova.

The biographies of the Judges are available on the STL’s website.

Background information:

On 16 September 2019 the STL Pre-Trial Judge lifted the confidentiality of his decision confirming an indictment against Mr Salim Jamil Ayyash. The indictment, dated 14 June 2019, alleges that Mr. Ayyash is involved in the 1 October 2004 attack against Marwan Hamade, the 21 June 2005 attack against Georges Hawi and the 12 July 2005 attack against Elias El-Murr. These attacks were found to be connected to the 14 February 2005 attack. These attacks constitute a new case, STL-18-10.

According to the STL’s Rules of Procedure and Evidence, the Trial Chamber may be engaged in various judicial matters before the start of trial. This can include holding an initial appearance with the Accused if one is in custody, deciding whether a trial should proceed in absentia and ruling on preliminary motions.

All STL Judges are appointed by the United Nations Secretary General.

Source: National News Agency

You May Also Like